

OLR RESEARCH REPORT

January 28, 2013

2013-R-0087

CONCISE SUMMARY OF CIVIL COMMITMENT LAWS

By: James Orlando, Associate Analyst

You asked for a concise summary of the civil commitment law.

Connecticut law establishes procedures for the involuntary commitment of people with psychiatric disabilities who are dangerous or gravely disabled, either following a court hearing or on an emergency basis without a prior hearing.

Below in Table 1, we briefly outline the procedure for involuntary civil commitment of adults (age 16 and over) for mental illness (CGS § 17a-495 et seq.). Not all provisions of the law are included; for a more detailed summary, see <u>OLR Report 2013-R-0041</u>. A concise summary of the civil commitment law for children will soon be available in another report.

Sandra Norman-Eady, Director Phone (860) 240-8400 FAX (860) 240-8881 http://www.cga.ct.gov/olr

Connecticut General Assembly Office of Legislative Research Room 5300 Legislative Office Building Hartford, CT 06106-1591 <u>Olr@cga.ct.gov</u>

Table 1: Connecticut Law on Involuntary Commitment of Adults with Mental Illness

Issue	Law
Standard for	Person must have psychiatric disabilities and be (1) dangerous to self or others or (2) gravely
Involuntary Civil	disabled (i.e., person may suffer serious harm because he or she fails to provide for basic
Commitment	human needs and refuses to accept necessary hospitalization)
Commitment	<u>Who may initiate</u> : Anyone, by filing application with probate court
Process (Requires	• Examination: Two court-appointed doctors (including one psychiatrist) must examine the
Court Order)	person within 10 days of hearing
	Hearing: Required within 10 business days of application. Person has right to be
	present, have counsel (court-appointed if indigent), present evidence, and cross-
	examine witnesses
	<u>Standard of proof to support commitment</u> : Clear and convincing evidence
	<u>Conversion</u> : Person can choose to convert to voluntary status before court rules on
	application
	<u>Commitment period</u> : Duration of psychiatric disabilities or until discharged or converted
	to voluntary status
Emergency	<u>Who may initiate</u> :
Commitment	 Physicians, psychologists, and certain clinical social workers or advanced
(Without Prior	practice registered nurses can issue certificate to confine someone on
Court Order Except	emergency basis (certificate must state that person meets commitment
as Noted)	standard and needs immediate care and treatment)
	 Police can take a person into custody and deliver him or her to hospital (1)
	following court warrant in response to application that person meets emergency
	commitment standard or (2) upon officer's reasonable belief that the person
	meets that standard
	Examination: Required within 48 hours (or 36 hours at chronic disease hospital) if applicate under physician's partificates of the suite within 24 hours
	confined under physician's certificate; otherwise within 24 hours
	<u>Probable cause hearing</u> : Anyone detained on emergency basis has right to probable cause hearing within 72 hours of written request
	 Duration of emergency commitment:
	 Duration of emergency communent. Person can be held up to 72 hours, or 15 days upon a physician's emergency
	certificate; must then be released unless detained and committed after hearing
	 If court finds probable cause, detention continues until completion of
	commitment proceedings (see above; clear and convincing evidence required
	to continue commitment) or 30 days from beginning of detention, whichever
	occurs first
Procedures	Examination: Annual review and psychiatric examinations required
Following	 Hearing: Full hearing required every two years
Commitment	 Release: Patients can apply for release and receive hearing at any time
	<u>Appeal</u> : Patients can appeal or petition for writ of habeas corpus to challenge
	confinement in Superior Court
Penalty for	Anyone who (1) willfully and maliciously causes, attempts to cause, or conspires with
Wrongfully Causing	someone else to cause any person who does not have psychiatric disabilities to be
Commitment	committed to a psychiatric hospital; (2) willfully certifies falsely to someone's psychiatric
	disabilities in a certificate; or (3) willfully reports falsely to any court or judge that a person
	has psychiatric disabilities, is subject to up to a \$1,000 fine, five years in prison, or both